AB 506: Mandated Reporter Training Requirements for Youth Service Organizations
AB 506 is designed to protect children from abuse and sexual abuse in youth service organizations.
The bill defines a “business that provides services to minors” as a non-profit or for-profit business that primarily provides extracurricular services or instruction to children under 18 years of age. This does not include daycare or childcare providers.
On September 16, 2021, California Assembly Bill 506 went into effect. Administrators, employees, and frequent volunteers of youth service organizations must comply with the following provisions as of September 16, 2021:
- Complete training in child abuse and neglect identification and reporting.
- Undergo a background check to identify and exclude any persons with a history of child abuse.
- Mandatory reporting of suspected incidents of child abuse, to persons or entities outside of the organization.
- Required: Two mandatory reporters are present whenever in contact with or in the supervision of children.
- Written policies and procedures to ensure the prevention and reporting of suspected child abuse, neglect, and sexual abuse
This will help ensure that adults who work with children are aware of the signs of abuse and know how to report it.
AB 506 is an important step in protecting children from abuse and ensuring that those who work with children are properly trained to deal with any incidents that may occur.
Requirements for Training as a Mandatory Reporter in the United States
Regular volunteers are now included in the list of California-mandated reporters under AB 506. This means that any person who volunteers on a regular basis for an organization whose primary purpose involves working with children must complete the following:
- Mandatory Fingerprinting
- Mandated Reporter Training from the State of California (2 hours).
This new requirement applies to a wide range of organizations, from scout troops and Little League teams to after-school programs and religious youth groups. It is important to note that the law does not exempt small organizations; even if a group only has one or two regular volunteers, they must still comply with the mandate. Failure to do so can result in a misdemeanor charge.
This new legislation is in response to the growing recognition of the importance of mandated reporters in protecting children from abuse and neglect.
Mandated reporters are often in a unique position to identify signs of abuse or neglect, and their training helps to ensure that they are able to effectively report their concerns.
The addition of regular volunteers to the list of required mandated reporters will help to ensure that more children are protected from abuse and neglect.
A “Regular Volunteer” is Defined in AB 506 as:
AB 506 is a new bill that has been passed in California that requires regular volunteers to take mandated reporter training. This bill defines a regular volunteer:
- A volunteer with a youth service organization who is 18 years or older and has direct contact with, or supervises children
- Works with children for more than 16 hours per month or
- Worker with children 32 hours per year.
Previously, volunteer-specific mandated reporter training courses were available but not required. However, AB 506 now makes it mandatory for volunteers to take mandated reporter training if they meet the above requirements as a “regular volunteer.”
Mandated reporter training courses cover a variety of topics, including how to identify signs of abuse and neglect, how to properly report suspected abuse or neglect, and what kind of support is available for victims of abuse or neglect.
Proof of Mandated Reporter Training Tied to Insurance Coverage
AB 506 seeks to address the child abuse problem within churches and other for-profit and nonprofit organizations that work with kids, by tying an organization’s insurance coverage to proof of compliance with the mandated reporter training requirements.
Under the law, insurance companies can request information demonstrating compliance before writing a church liability insurance policy. They can also request current insureds to provide proof of the completed training.
Many churches have asked, once the training is completed they need to forward proof of completion. The answer is no. They are only required to show proof upon request from the church insurance company.
Does your organization have more questions about AB 506?
Integrity Now Insurance Brokers helps thousands of churches in California with their church liability insurance needs.
Nonprofit organizations who need help complying with AB 506 should reach out to our church insurance agency and talk with one of our licensed insurance agents.
One of our church insurance experts will review your abuse insurance policy to ensure you have adequate insurance coverage.
So what are you waiting for? To have our church insurance brokers look after your church insurance plans, call us at (877) 854 7396. Alternatively, you can get in touch with us on our website for more information about our policies and how they can protect your nonprofit or charity.